‘Let Them Come Home’–Abraham Piper’s Wise Counsel to Grieving Parents

After openly running from the Lord for four years, this is how Abraham Piper describes his conversion and his return home:

One Tuesday morning, before 8 o’clock, I went to the library to check my e-mail. I had a message from a girl I’d met a few weeks before, and her e-mail mentioned a verse in Romans. I went down to the Circle K and bought a 40-ounce can of Miller High Life for $1.29. Then I went back to where I was staying, rolled a few cigarettes, cracked open my drink, and started reading Romans. I wanted to read the verse from the e-mail, but I couldn’t remember what it was, so I started at the beginning of the book. By the time I got to chapter 10, the beer was gone, the ashtray needed emptying and I was a Christian.

Abraham’s story is a glorious testimony to the power of prayer, the process of church discipline, the relentless pursuit of the Lord, and the blood-bought grace of God which underwrites all of these things.

In his Decision Magazine article, you can read the rest of Abraham’s story.  He also gives 12 helpful action steps that Christian parents can do (and should do) when their child wants nothing to do with Jesus.

Read the whole thing here: Let Them Come Home

Soli Deo Gloria, dss

Leave a Reply

